Keynote Speakers

Prof Richard Leach, University of Nottingham

Richard is currently a Professor in Metrology at the University of Nottingham and prior to this spent 25 years at the National Physical Laboratory. He has been researching and lecturing on surface metrology for 30 years. He is on the Council of the European Society of Precision Engineering and Nanotechnology, the Board of the American Society of Precision Engineering and several international standards committees. He is the European Editor-in-Chief for Precision Engineering and has over 500 publications including six textbooks. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Physics, the Institution of Engineering & Technology, Higher Education Authority, the Institute of Measurement & Control, and the International Society of Nanomanufacturing. He is a visiting professor at Loughborough University and the Harbin Institute of Technology.

Mr James F. Hunter, Los Alamos National Laboratory

James Hunter is team leader for the Special Projects team within the Non-Destructive Testing Group at Los Alamos National Laboratory in Northern New Mexico, USA. The NDT group runs about 15 computed tomography (CT) systems at any given time and uses or oversees a number of others. James has twenty years of experience in CT and currently serves as the subject matter expert in this capability for LANL. James started his career at LANL writing a large portion of LANL’s CT reconstruction code Recon including implementation of dual energy solution and reconstruction. He then transitioned into technique and system development and has worked in a range of CT areas from micron and sub-micron resolution synchrotron imaging all the way up to developing LANL’s 6-20MeV high energy CT system and a fast neutron imaging systems at LANL’s LANSCE accelerator facility. Today James leads the Special Projects team which develops imaging and tomography systems to fulfill new requirements in support of LANL and the broader US Department of Energy Complex. His most recent focus includes improving high energy 2-D detectors for use in the 6-20MeV range to support an increasing demand in this area.

Additional Speakers

  • Andreas Wiegmann, Math2Market
  • Celia Butler, Synopsys
  • Bethany Keenan, Cardiff University
  • Muhammad Sajid Khan, Army Public College of Management & Sciences UET Taxila
  • Xuekun Lu, UCL
  • Anton du Plessis, Stellenbosch University
  • Joel Strickland, University of Leicester
  • Ifeanyichukwu Echeta, University of Nottingham
  • Beate Lauterbach, Volume Graphics GmbH
  • James Le Houx, University of Southampton
  • Lee Margetts, University of Manchester
  • Oxana Shishkina, Siemens Digital Industries Software
  • Emrah Sozumert, Swansea University
  • Franck Vidal, Bangor University

For details on speakers from previous events please see the past events page.