Profion Rhithwir i Rannau Real

IBSim-4i 2023


Over the five days we had attendees representing academia, research centres, start-up companies, and large multinational corporations joining us. Once again, the training course (Day 1-2) was oversubscribed. The forum (Day 3-4) was well-attended by a mix of new and returning attendees. For the third time, the event was hosted by the IOP at their headquarters in London.

Keynote Speakers

Prof Jean-Charles Passieux, INSA Toulouse, France

Generation of analysis suitable B-Spline beam models from digital images

JC Passieux is a full professor of Computational Mechanics at INSA Toulouse, France. He develops high-performance computational methods (domain decomposition, reduced order models, local/global coupling, Isogeometric Analysis). He has contributed to the development of finite element-based and global digital image correlation (DIC) methods, identification from digital images, image-based models and data assimilation. He was co-chairman of the international conference Photomechanics 2018 in Toulouse. He is a member of the steering committee of the Computational Solid Mechanics Association (CSMA, France). He is one of the founding members of the French PhotoMechanics Association.

Dr Fabrice Pierron, Matchid NV, Belgium

Integrating 2D/3D images with numerical simulations for mechanical deformation analysis

Dr Fabrice Pierron has been a Professor of Solid Mechanics at the University of Southampton since 2012. He is a specialist in the integration of image-based deformation mapping (like digital image correlation) with inverse identification (like the Virtual Fields Method) to design the next generation of mechanical tests. He has published more than 150 journal articles. He was Editor-in-Chief of the journal Strain (Wiley) for ten years and is a co-founder of the company MatchID NV (Ghent, Belgium), for which he now also works as R&D Director since 2021. Prof. Pierron is a Fellow of the Society for Experimental Mechanics (SEM).

Additional Speakers

  • Ander Biguri, University Of Cambridge
  • Christian Breite, KU Leuven
  • Koussay Daadouch, Ruhr University Bochum
  • Dongze He, The University of Manchester
  • Umeir Khan, University Of Bristol
  • Rhydian Lewis, Swansea University
  • Grammatiki Lioliou, University College London
  • Harry Lipscomb & Marti Puig, University of Manchester
  • Iwan Mitchell, Bangor University
  • Subrata Mondal, University of Bath
  • Tessa Nogatz, RPTU Kaiserslautern-Landau
  • Fatima Zahra Oujebbour, CNESTEN
  • Chris Packer, The University of Edinburgh
  • Sylwin Pawlowski, University of Lisbon
  • Connie Qian, The University of Warwick
  • Dirk Schut, Centrum Wiskunde & Informatica (CWI)
  • Elena Syerko, Nantes Université, École Centrale de Nantes
  • Benjamin Thorpe, University of York
  • Léonard Turpin, Diamond Light Source
  • Fatih Uzun, The University Of Oxford
  • Franck Vidal, Bangor University
  • Walter Villanueva, Bangor University
  • Moritz Weiss, Diondo / University of Wuppertal
  • Liang Yang, Cranfield University
  • Miroslav Yosifov, University Of Applied Sciences Upper Austria


Recordings [Day 3]


Recordings [Day 4]